After the 30, Reintroduction Day 6

Today was a regular Whole30 day, so I stuck to my usual breakfast and lunch. For dinner, I tried a new pork recipe from http://www.stiritup.com:

http://stiritup.me/?p=2102

I forgot to take pictures of my meal until after we ate, so I only have a picture of the leftover pork. I made some yummy asparagus to go with it. My boys went nuts over the asparagus. I couldn’t believe it! My little guy threw a piece of pork and screamed at me because he wanted the asparagus instead! That is a total win in my book! It was so easy too, I just placed them on foil in a pan, tossed them in some ghee and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, thyme and a clove of chopped garlic. I popped them in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. They were mini asparagus, so you might need a little more time if you are using larger ones. Anyway, they were perfect.

I really enjoyed the pork, and the kids liked it too (eventually Greyson stopped throwing it and ate it!). My husband was not such a fan because he’s not really into sweet and savory. He didn’t like the cinnamon. The tumeric made it slightly spicy, so I just chopped off the outer edge for Greyson.

Today my bootcamp was canceled, and I spent the morning cleaning the house, so I didn’t get a workout in. I often find myself having to make the tough choice: clean the house, run errands, or work out. It’s very difficult for me to accomplish more than one thing because the morning whizzes by so quickly, and between fitting in Grey’s nap, preparing lunch for myself and him, diaper changes, and just picking up the mess from the morning, there just isn’t much time left before I have to pick up Max from school. I feel like I spend most of my days doing laundry, picking up toys and clothes, cooking and washing dishes. I never seem to get ahead of it, so getting to the dusting, vacuuming or mopping is a true challenge. I think it’s been over a month since I have mopped the hallway, so cleaning the house had to be priority number one today. I figure I got a workout in a sense…vacuuming, sweeping, and mopping. I still didn’t get to dust the furniture (which I really should do before cleaning my floors, but it is what it is), but at least I got rid of the dust creatures that were living under my son’s bed. Gross!

I’ve decided to do Whole30 for the next two days so that my gluten reintroduction can fall on Thursday, the day I lunch with my mom. I will have bread and pasta that day and see how bloated I can get! I am trying to figure out where to go from here, what can I live with, implement into my lifestyle for good. So far, I know that I can’t live without chocolate. Well, I can, but I don’t want to. I do know that if I eat too much, I get nasty gas. Surprisingly, I feel like I might be able to live without bread and pasta for most days. I have found that my craving for bread has kind of gone away, which is crazy. I am hoping it doesn’t return on Thursday. I would like to avoid it most days and just save it for special occasions. I find that I am perfectly happy eating marinara or meat sauce over zucchini zoodles or even rice. I’d like to keep my rice intake to a minimum, but I think I can tolerate it from time to time when I want something a little carby.

Yesterday I forgot to share some of my Mother’s Day goodies courtesy of my kids and hubby:

IMG_8360

I’m excited to try out some new recipes next week!

Disclaimer: If you have a foot phobia, I would stop reading now!

My husband also got me this Amope pedi foot file.IMG_8356 asked for it. It’s not like he was giving me a cruel hint. The truth is, I have total caveman feet. I mean, they are nasty because I always walk around the house barefoot, and I run and just don’t take care of them. I only get a professional pedicure like maybe two or three times a year. I don’t have the money or time to do it regularly. Anyway, I was totally excited to try it out tonight. So far, I’m pleased with the results. I am sure it will take regular use to get my feet looking less like dinosaur claws, but they already feel much softer. My mom got me this awesome lotion, and I put it on my feet after using the Amope:

IMG_8357

So here’s a before and after:

Before
Before

IMG_8358

After
After

As you can see, my feet are not one of my best features. But, they get me around!

My husband also got me a stick blender, so that will come in handy when I want to quickly mix up sauces and stuff. Overall it was a pretty good mother’s day. I didn’t get breakfast in bed or sleep in bed for that matter, but I got to spend the day with my family and that’s enough.

Leave a comment