Whole30 Day 22

After an emotional day yesterday, I actually got the best sleep I have had in weeks. The kids slept better than usual. Both slept straight through past 6:30 am, so I actually got like six solid hours of sleep. I really needed it. It helped me start the day in a more positive way. I took Max to the doctor to evaluate the cough and congestion he has had for three weeks. I mentioned his behavior to the doctor and asked if she had any referrals. She didn’t, and she didn’t seem too concerned, chalked it up to typical three year old behavior. She did send us home with a prescription for medicine for his nebulizer and encouraged me to seek out a therapist if I wanted some tips or just to hear that my son is not abnormal.

I’ve set him up for an evaluation at school, and we started our chart today (sadly, he didn’t get a sticker). Maybe tomorrow. Other than hitting his brother in the head with a large plastic dinosaur, he’s been better today. Like the Whole30, one day at a time.

Breakfast: I made a big batch of my sweet potato hash with fried egg.

Lunch: Last night, I marinated some chicken and cooked it in the skillet pan for lunch. I was very pleased with this recipe for Green Fajita Chicken:

Green Fajita Chicken

The only thing I would do differently is season the chicken with salt and pepper before throwing it in the bag of marinade. So, I threw some pieces of chicken over my spinach salad, added some beets and cherry tomatoes, leftover butternut squash and Tessame dressing (the key to this dressing is shaking it up like a mad woman before using).

IMG_8250 IMG_8251

Dinner: Leftover Turkey Pico de Gallo.

Snack: Banana, strawberries, pear

Thoughts: I really do feel like I am in the home stretch now. I am starting to worry a bit about what will happen after day 30. I don’t want to fall back into old habits. That’s my biggest fear. I guess I’ll worry about it on day 31. Right now, I’m saying goodbye to day 22! Just over a week left! I’ve got this.

Leave a comment